## **Zero Emission Bus Fact Sheet**

- Since 2016, Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) has been awarded six Low or No Emission (Low-No) Buses and Bus Facilities Program Competitive Grants through the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) totaling \$31.4M.
- As a result of these grants, DTC now operates 26 battery electric zero emission buses (ZEBs) statewide, representing over 10% of our fixed route fleet.
  - 14 in New Castle County
  - Six in Kent County
  - Six in Sussex County
- All ZEBs are supported by plug-in chargers at our depots.
  - In 2022, our first on-route pantograph charger was deployed at the Lewes Transit Center in Sussex County.
  - On-route chargers allow us to extend the range of our electric buses.
  - Future on-route chargers are planned for the Dover Transit Center in Kent County, Wilmington Transit Center in New Castle County, and other locations throughout the state.
- Next steps include the purchase of eight hydrogen fuel cell buses for New Castle County and an additional four electric buses for Sussex County.
  - Hydrogen buses will be based out of DTC's Mid-County depot, where a facility expansion and hydrogen fueling station are planned.
  - Electric buses for Sussex County will be based out of DTC's Rehoboth Park & Ride, building on the six ZEBs already serving the bustling beach communities.



